Discussion Forum Leica M System M Lenses Leica Lens Prices and Availability
    dscott77

Greetings. After 40 years using mostly Nikon equipment, I’m now brand new to the world of Leica. I’ve acquired an M9 and a 50mm Summicron f/2 lens, both of which I absolutely love. However, I’m curious. What’s up with the backorder “unavailability” of many Leica lenses from folks like B&H, Adorama, etc.? Has the M9 caused large numbers of Nikon and Canon users ditch their heavy SLRs in favor of Leica gear? Also, have prices of used Leica lens skyrocketed as of late? There seems to be a huge discrepancy between what used Leica lenses should cost according to the likes of Ken Rockwell and others vs. what they’re selling for at KEH, eBay and even the specialty Leica sites with classified sections. Have I entered “at the top of the market”? Any guidance from a Leica veteran would be appreciated. For example, I’d love to obtain a 35mm Summicron f/2 but new ones seem scare at three grand and used ones, depending on condition and model, are fetching between $2,600 and $3,600 and up! I know I’ve entered rarified air but have prices taken a particularly sudden and dramatic swing upward?

Doug

Welcome, dscott! I was fortunate to acquire “sufficient” Leica M lenses before the M9 came along and the pricing took off. I do think it’s the popularity of the M9 that is driving the demand, coupled with Leica’s limited production capability. Short supply and a healthy demand results in sky-high pricing. And now Leica has the S2 system in production as well. I don’t know how this will play out in future. Maybe the demand will gradually be satisfied.

In the meantime, there are two other main options for new M lenses, from Voigtlander and Zeiss. Careful shopping in that direction can result in finding some useful gems at modest cost.

Josh Lehrer